What is the Aurora Alliance About

The Aurora European University Alliance builds on the established Aurora Universities Network, formed in 2016 as a consortium of 9 top-ranked, research-intensive universities in the EU, deeply committed to the social impact and engagement with the communities.

About European University Alliances

The European University Alliances are a flagship initiative of the European strategy for universities. It is an ambitious EU initiative aimed at establishing alliances between higher institutions from all across Europe, for the benefit of their students, staff and society.

By developing long-term structural and strategic and sustainable cooperation between the higher education institutions in the European Universities alliances, the initiative aims to:

  • improve the international competitiveness of higher education institutions in Europe  
  • promote European values and identity

About Aurora

Aurora is a partnership of research intensive European universities. We use our academic excellence to drive societal change and achieve the Sustainable Development Goals.

Students are at the heart of Aurora. We work together to enhance the quality of education, research, and  innovation. We ensure that our graduates are social entrepreneurs, capable of tackling the most pressing societal challenges.

We believe that excellent, inclusive and societally relevant higher education shapes a sustainable future.

More information can be found on our website.


Consortia Participants

  • Coordinator – Stichting Vu Stichting VU Netherlands
  • Beneficiary – Haskoli Islands UI Iceland
  • Beneficiary –  Universitaet Duisburg-Essen UDE Germany
  • Beneficiary Universitat Rovira I Virgili URV Spain
  • Beneficiary – Universitaet Innsbruck UIBK Austria
  • Beneficiary –  Universita Degli Studi Di Napoli Federico Ii UNINA Italy
  • Beneficiary – Univerzita Palackeho V Olomouci UP Czech Republic
  • Beneficiary –  Copenhagen Business School CBS Denmark
  • Beneficiary –  Université Paris-Est Créteil UPEC France

Associate Partners

  • South-West University “Neofit Rilski” Bulgaria
  • Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice Slovakia
  • V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University Ukraine
  • University of Tetova Northern Macedonia


In the Aurora 2030 programme, we will focus our collaboration on three key areas:

Learning for Societal Impact

The Alliance will change educational practice so that students will be learning for demonstrable and tangible societal impact.  

Engaging Communities

In line with the third mission of universities.  Engaging with various communities is crucial to the Aurora Alliance.

Sustainability Pioneers

We aim to have our institutions become frontrunners in the incorporation of Sustainable Development Goals in their activities.

Project Facts at Glance

Read more
  • Project number: 101124312
  • Acronym: Aurora
  • Title: Aurora 2030
  • Call/Topic: ERASMUS- EDU-2023-EUR-UNIV  / ERASMUS- EDU-2023-EUR-UNIV-1
  • Type of action: ERASMUS Lump Sum Grants
  • Granted by: Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency
  • Consortium agreement required: Yes
  • Duration (in months): 48
  • Starting Date: 1 November 2023